Lyceum Theater Postponement – Arrow Rock MO

ARROW ROCK LYCEUM THEATRE POSTPONES 2020 SEASON PRODUCTIONS (Press Release)

Arrow Rock, MO -On April 30, the Arrow Rock Lyceum Theatre announced the postponement of its first three productions of the 2020 season, to corresponding dates in 2021: Disney’s The Little Mermaid, Singin’ in the Rain, and Sister Act.

The theatre now announces the postponement of the remainder of our summer/fall programming: Murder on the Orient Express, Our Town, Charley’s Aunt, and Heartbreak Hotel.

A chart of corresponding dates for the postponed productions can be found below.

The theatre has also postponed trips to New York and London to spring 2021, as well as our special presentations of Count Basie Orchestra (to April 11, 2021 at 2 p.m.) and Don Schlitz (to May 8, 2021 at 2 p.m.). Our Murder Mystery Weekend is postponed to the last weekend of October 2021.

In a statement from the Saline County Health Department, Administrator Tara Brewer said:
“Our hearts are broken that The Lyceum is postponing the remainder of its season through November, but in this uncertain time this is best for their actors, employees and patrons. Saline County Health Department supports The Lyceum in this difficult decision, and agree that opening the doors at this time may be an unnecessary risk.”

The theatre will continue to evaluate the practicality of A Christmas Carol in the coming months.

Through a careful examination of the economic ramifications and potential public health impact of continuing our season in August, and after hearing from community members who responded to a detailed survey, the theatre made the difficult decision that it is in the best interest of employees, performers and audience members to wait until next year to celebrate our 60th Season.

The Lyceum firmly believes this was the only decision that will allow us to reopen ready and strong in 2021.

For those who have tickets to the remaining shows, we have provided a ticketing form to let us know how they’d prefer for us to handle their ticket purchase for these shows (see below).

Ticketing Form

They humbly ask that anyone who can, please consider turning their ticket(s) into a tax-deductible donation back to the theatre. Some very generous individuals and businesses have established a special challenge grant of $100,000 to double the value of donated tickets for the theare. This has been made possible by: Stan & Kay Kuecker with a lead gift, Hank Waters & Vicki Russell, Orscheln Farm & Home, John Landrum, Rita Burnstad, Dave & Nancy Griggs, and Rich & Debbie Lawson.

Ticket(s) may also be transferred to corresponding date(s) for the postponed productions in 2021 (see chart below for reference).

The Lyceum Theatre box office is currently closed to in person visits and is operating by phone during limited business hours (10 a.m. – 2 p.m.); we will be reaching out to ticketholders for these productions as needed.

Postponement Date Chart:

Murder on the Orient Express:
Friday, 08/07/20 – 7:30 pm: Friday, 08/06/20 – 7:30 pm
Saturday, 08/08/20 – 2:00 pm: Saturday, 08/07/21 – 2:00 pm
Saturday, 08/08/20 – 7:30 pm: Saturday, 8/07/21 – 7:30 pm
Sunday, 08/09/20 – 2:00 pm: Sunday, 08/08/21 – 2:00 pm
Tuesday, 08/11/20 – 2:00 pm: Tuesday, 08/10/21 – 2:00 pm
Wednesday, 08/12/20 – 2:00 pm: Wednesday, 08/11/21 – 2:00 pm
Thursday, 08/13/20 – 2:00 pm: Thursday, 08/12/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 08/14/20 – 2:00 pm: Friday, 08/13/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 08/14/20 – 7:30 pm: Friday, 08/13/21 – 7:30 pm
Saturday, 08/15/20 – 2:00 pm: Saturday, 08/14/21 – 2:00 pm
Saturday, 08/15/20 – 7:30 pm: Saturday, 08/14/21 – 7:30 pm
Sunday, 08/16/20 – 2:00 pm: Sunday, 08/15/21 – 2:00 pm

Our Town:
Wednesday, 08/26/20 – 2:00 pm: Wednesday, 08/25/21 – 2:00 pm
Wednesday, 08/26/20 – 7:30 pm: Wednesday, 08/25/21 – 7:30 pm
Thursday, 08/27/20 – 2:00 pm: Thursday, 08/26/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 08/28/20 – 2:00 pm: Friday, 08/27/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 08/28/20 – 7:30 pm: Friday, 08/27/21 – 7:30 pm
Saturday, 08/29/20 – 2:00 pm: Saturday, 08/28/21 – 2:00 pm
Saturday, 08/29/20 – 7:30 pm: Saturday, 08/28/21 – 7:30 pm
Sunday, 08/30/20 – 2:00 pm: Sunday, 08/29/21 – 2:00 pm

Charley’s Aunt:
Wednesday, 09/09/20 – 2:00 pm: Wednesday, 09/08/21 – 2:00 pm
Wednesday, 09/09/20 – 7:30 pm: Wednesday, 09/08/21 – 7:30 pm
Thursday, 09/10/20 – 2:00 pm: Thursday, 09/09/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 09/11/20 – 2:00 pm: Friday, 09/10/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 09/11/20 – 7:30 pm: Friday, 09/10/21 – 7:30 pm
Saturday, 09/12/20 – 2:00 pm: Saturday, 09/11/21 – 2:00 pm
Saturday, 09/12/20 – 7:30 pm: Saturday, 09/11/21 – 7:30 pm
Sunday, 09/13/20 – 2:00 pm: Sunday, 09/12/21 – 2:00 pm

Heartbreak Hotel:
Wednesday, 09/23/20 – 7:30 pm: Wednesday, 09/22/21 – 7:30 pm
Thursday, 09/24/20 – 2:00 pm: Thursday, 09/23/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 09/25/20 – 2:00 pm: Friday, 09/24/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 09/25/20 – 7:30 pm: Friday, 09/24/21 – 7:30 pm
Saturday, 09/26/20 – 2:00 pm: Saturday, 09/25/21 – 2:00 pm
Saturday, 09/26/20 – 7:30 pm: Saturday, 09/25/21 – 7:30 pm
Sunday, 09/27/20 – 2:00 pm: Sunday, 09/26/21 – 2:00 pm
Tuesday, 09/29/20 – 2:00 pm: Tuesday, 09/28/21 – 2:00 pm
Wednesday, 09/30/20 – 2:00 pm: Wednesday, 09/29/21 – 2:00 pm
Thursday, 10/01/20 – 2:00 pm: Thursday, 09/30/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 10/02/20 – 2:00 pm: Friday, 10/01/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 10/02/20 – 7:30 pm: Friday, 10/01/21 – 7:30 pm
Saturday, 10/03/20 – 2:00 pm: Saturday, 10/02/21 – 2:00 pm
Saturday, 10/03/20 – 7:30 pm: Saturday, 10/02/21 – 7:30 pm
Sunday, 10/04/20 – 2:00 pm: Sunday, 10/03/21 – 2:00 pm